Physics at GCSE

GCSE Physics is taught in Years 9, 10 and 11. It follows this AQA specification.  

AQA Physics GCSE Specification

The GCSE will be assessed at the end of Year 11 for all students. Those obtaining a grade 8 or higher, will be eligible to continue studying Physics at A level.

GCSE students no longer sit a written exam as part of their coursework. Instead, they have a series of 10 required practical experiments which they must complete in order to obtain their GCSE certificate.

Students are taught in the same groups of 27 in which they were placed in at the start of Year 8. There are 6 physics lessons per fortnight.

For more information on all topics covered throughout GCSE, click here.

To help with homework or to enrich students' understanding, the Physics Links page contains a list of useful web sites for GCSE.